Alpha +3

Link up A&A Pacific 1940 and Europe 1940, and you've got Axis & Allies Global 1940.
WILD BILL
Posts: 1487
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 2:24 pm

Re: Alpha +3

Post by WILD BILL » Thu Jan 03, 2013 1:36 pm

Noll wrote:An attacking force made of 10 transports starts a sea battle against scrambling fighters. What does happen next?

Are the transports killed? Can the attacker retreat?

They wouldn't be defenseless transports because as the attacker you can retreat.
There is one round of battle, and any hits the def scrambled ftrs get go to individual transports, then the attacker is allowed to retreat the surviving transports.

Even if you try an ampib with one dd & 10 transports. Say they scramble 3 ftrs, and get two hits. Your dd is killed + one transport, then the rest of your attacking transports can retreat.


BTW I was the first to post on page 400 8)

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Alpha +3--question about U.S. national objectives

Post by Krieghund » Thu Jan 03, 2013 1:53 pm

pojo92 wrote:In the global game, does the U.S. continue to get the +40 IPC bonus from the Pacific game when it enters a state of war?
No, it does not.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

WILD BILL
Posts: 1487
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 2:24 pm

Re: Alpha +3--question about U.S. national objectives

Post by WILD BILL » Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:23 pm

pojo92 wrote:In the global game, does the U.S. continue to get the +40 IPC bonus from the Pacific game when it enters a state of war?
pojo92 welcome to Harris game site, and Krieghund summed it up with the quick version (we're assuming your playing the 1st edition Out Of Book rules). There is a new 2nd edition game and rule set now that you might want to take a look at (see below).

In 1st edition Out Of Book (OOB) game rules that came out in 2009 (Pac), and 2010 (Europe) the rules that combine to make the global game (rules at the end of the Europe rule book page 35) say the US gets a total 30 IPC bonus if at war, and has control of East US, Central US, and West US (you would not get the 40 listed for the Pac side).

In the 2nd edition game that just came out this past summer/fall the US war bonus is broken up into several NO's. It gets only 10 IPC for continental US (E US, C US & W US), and 5 IPCs for various other possessions and goals. This new rule set that comes with the 2nd edition game is based on a long process (Alpha rules) where the games creator (Larry Harris) with the help of the gaming community made many changes to the OOB rules. The new rule set is available as a free down load (see below).

If you have the first edition game/map(s), I would suggest taking a look at the 2nd edition rules and set-up (many things have changed). There were no major changes to the map (only minor border corrections), so game play would be fine.
Some of the high lights or changes:
* Scramble
*AA guns
*Convoys
*Strategic Bombing Raids (SBR)

Have fun regardless of which game/rules you play WB


Here is the page/link to down load any of the axis & allies game rules, just scroll to the one you want. (*note the 2nd edition rule book for Europe is on the same line as the revised rule packet).

Just run your mouse over the link(s) below, and it will allow you to click it.

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/downloads


You can get the latest set up on the first page of this thread, just scroll down to see the Alpha+3 set up. Just subtract one UK inf from Egypt.

http://www.harrisgamedesign.com/phpBB3/ ... =40&t=6149

Here is another link to the newest set up, (used with 2nd edition rules), but you will need to register at AA.org to down load it though. It is another great site for AA enthusiasts (if your not already on).

http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/ind ... ach=182542

Good gaming WB

Noll
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:41 am

Re: Alpha +3

Post by Noll » Mon Mar 31, 2014 5:34 am

I own Euro and Pacific 40 first edition so I'm not sure about this thing:

What's the american INCOME in the single EURO GAMES? Before and After War?

Wittman
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 6:24 am
Location: Hereford, England.

Re: Alpha +3

Post by Wittman » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:02 pm

Ciao Noll.
At peace is still 35, but the at War NOs are different in the 2nd Edition.

The US receives only 20 (not 30) for holding East and Central US.
They get a further 5 for controlling SE Mexico, Central America and West Indies.

jasmar40
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: Alpha +3

Post by jasmar40 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:04 pm

Can Germany scramble from s italy? Does it have to be your home base?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests