Official Rules Clarifications

The sister game to Axis & Allies Pacific 1940. Due out August 24, 2010
User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2671
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:42 pm

Since the official FAQ won't be published until work on the Alpha project is completed, Larry and I have put together a list of rules clarifications to address some of the common questions and concerns that people have about the Europe and Global 1940 games. Each of these clarifications applies whether you're playing with the box rules and setup or with the Alpha modifications.


The Map

Alberta/Saskatchewan/Manitoba and Central United States are adjacent to each other.

Quebec and New Brunswick/Nova Scotia are adjacent to each other.

Sea zone 106 and Eastern United States are not adjacent to each other.

Greenland is an island.

Scotland and Eire are adjacent to each other.

The Caspian Sea is a sea zone.


Politics

The statement on page 10 of the Rulebook that says the United States collects an additional 30 IPCs when it declares war is simply a reference to its National Objectives. It is not meant to imply a one-time additional bonus.

If another power declares war on your power, your power is at war immediately, but only with the power that declared war on it. You must wait until your turn to make any declarations of war on other powers that were enabled by that declaration. For example, if Germany declares war on the United States, the United States is immediately at war with Germany, but it must wait until its turn to declare war on Italy. Of course, the United States may also declare war on Germany on its turn, but this is technically unnecessary, as the two powers are already at war.

A declaration of war is considered to be “provoked” under two conditions. The first is when the declaration is made in reaction to the direct aggression of another power. An example of this would be the Soviet Union declaring war on Germany after Germany has already declared war on the Soviet Union. (Such a declaration is technically unnecessary, as the two powers would already be at war.) The second condition is when a political rule allows the power to declare war due to a specific action being taken by another power. For example, the United States is allowed to declare war on any or all Axis powers if an Axis power declares war on it, so if Germany declares war on the United States, a subsequent declaration of war by United States on Italy would be considered provoked. A declaration of war under any other circumstances is considered to be "unprovoked". (Note that a declaration enabled by a political rule that allows a power to declare war on any of its turns or on a specific turn is considered to be unprovoked, as this is a condition based on the passage of time rather than on a specific action taken by a power.)

French territories (including French Indo-China) are just like any other power's territories. When Paris falls, they remain French controlled. While they are still under French control, Allied powers may move units into them, but they may not take control of them. Once they are captured by an Axis power, an Allied power may recapture them and gain control of them until Paris is liberated, at which point they revert to French control.


Neutral Territories

You may not activate a friendly neutral territory by moving an antiaircraft gun into it. You must move a land unit with an attack value into the territory.

You may not move air units into or through a friendly neutral territory during the same turn in which you move land units into it to claim it for your power.


Movement

Mechanized infantry units can move two territories in noncombat movement without a tank. In fact, they can also move two territories in combat movement without a tank, as long as the first territory is friendly. They only need to be paired with a tank in order to perform a blitz movement, which involves moving through an unoccupied hostile territory during combat movement. See pages 14 and 15 of the Rulebook for more on blitzing.

If you’re doing an amphibious assault and there are no enemy ships in the sea zone from which you’re attacking, but the potential exists for air units to be scrambled into that sea zone, you may move extra ships and planes that won’t directly support the assault into the sea zone along with your transports just in case your opponent decides to scramble the air units to defend the sea zone.


Combat

Units that have no attack value (aircraft carriers and transports) may not attack a sea zone by themselves. In order to carry out an attack, at least one unit with an attack value must participate. This includes sinking defenseless transports. However, this does not prevent transports from attempting to conduct an amphibious assault alone if there are only enemy units within the sea zone that may initiate optional defenses, such as air units that may scramble.

A submarine that submerges resurfaces immediately after the battle. Submerging simply removes subs from combat. Beyond that, it has no further effect.

If a lone aircraft carrier is attacked by only subs, any air units on the carrier still defend in the air, even though they can't hit the subs. The only time a carrier’s planes don’t defend in the air is when the carrier goes into battle already damaged and the planes are trapped on board.

If you declare an amphibious assault from a sea zone containing only enemy subs and/or transports and you choose to ignore them, but your opponent scrambles fighters into the sea zone, you may no longer ignore the subs/transports. The scrambling of air units into the sea zone forces a sea battle, so all units in the sea zone will participate in it.


Mobilizing New Units

When upgrading a minor industrial complex to a major one, only three units may be mobilized by the complex in the same turn (not counting the upgrade itself).


Global Rules

Sea zone 10 does not connect to sea zone 64. The border between sea zones 10 and 11 should connect to the Pacific map edge at the southern tip of Mexico. Sea zone 10 is adjacent only to Western United States, Mexico, and sea zones 1, 9, 11, and 12.

The Soviet Union, due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, was in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers. As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see Powers That Begin the Game Neutral, pg. 15) on the other map. In other words, a state of war with Japan lifts those restrictions from the USSR on the Pacific map only, and a state of war with Germany and/or Italy lifts those restrictions on the Europe map only.

China may declare war on a European Axis power if that power moves units into a territory into which Chinese units are allowed to move.

China may take temporary control of Burma and/or Kwangtung if it recaptures them from the Axis while India is under Axis control. Any industrial complexes there are not removed, but China may not use them.

United Kingdom Europe and United Kingdom Pacific are not separate powers. They are separate economies within the same power. As such, the only things that they do separately are collect and spend IPCs. This means that the Purchase & Repair Units, Mobilize New Units, and Collect Income phases of the United Kingdom turn are conducted separately for each economy, but all other phases of the turn are conducted together in the same manner as any other power, with no regard to map boundaries. Once units are mobilized, there is no such thing as a “United Kingdom Europe unit” or a “United Kingdom Pacific unit”. They are all just United Kingdom units, and they move and fight together as one.

If the United Kingdom captures an Axis capital, the IPCs go the economy that receives income from territories on that map. If Berlin or Rome is captured, the IPCs go to the Europe economy. If Tokyo is captured, the IPCs go to the Pacific economy. This applies even if the receiving economy’s capital is held by the Axis.

If one of the United Kingdom’s capitals is captured by the Axis, the other capital cannot collect IPC income from the fallen capital’s remaining territories.

If only one of the United Kingdom’s capitals is captured by the Axis, other Allied powers may take temporary control of territories whose income would normally go to the captured capital by recapturing them from the Axis (but not by moving into them while still UK-controlled). Territories whose income would go to the free capital are liberated as normal.

If the United Kingdom does Research and Development, either or both economies can pay for it, and both will share in the results.

If the United Kingdom gains the War Bonds breakthrough, the IPCs may be divided between the two economies each turn in whichever way the United Kingdom player likes, including all of them to one economy and none of them to the other.

China may not do Research and Development.

Paratroopers may not “fly over” neutral territories. They must obey the same movement restrictions as air units do.

Radar technology also allows the antiaircraft fire of facilities during strategic bombing raids to hit on a 1 or 2.
Last edited by Krieghund on Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:47 am, edited 3 times in total.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2671
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:21 am

Added two new statements (in red).
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Anzac Digger
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:41 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Anzac Digger » Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:34 am

Hi Krieghund,

I love the new version of Europe 1940, it's so much better than the original. A quick question on amphibous assaults (I've searched the rule book but can't find a definitive answer) - can a tank landing in an amphibious assault against an unoccupied but enemy held territory immediately blitz into a second territory during the same turn? For example an Italian tank lands in unoccupied but Allied held Jordan, and then immediately blitzes into Allied held Syria?

Thanks,
Anzac Digger

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2671
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:34 pm

Welcome, Anzac Digger!

No land unit may move before loading onto or after unloading from a transport. See page 30 of the Rulebook.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2671
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:42 am

Added a clarification about sea zone 10 to the Global Rules section.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2671
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:48 am

Added a clarification about Chinese control of Burma and Kwangtung to the Global Rules section.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

MiniAlien
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by MiniAlien » Fri Sep 23, 2011 8:16 am

Krieghund wrote:Welcome, Anzac Digger!

No land unit may move before loading onto or after unloading from a transport. See page 30 of the Rulebook.
Hi Krieghund,

I have a question about this. Is it possible for a tank/mech. inf. in their combat move phase / non combat move phase to move through one friendly territory and then load the tank/mech. inf. from that territory into a transport?

An example:
Say one tank/mech. inf. is in France and you have a transport in the sea zone under Southern France (sea zone 93). Is it possible to load this tank/mech. inf. into that transport or not?

And what about blitzing? Is it possible to make blitz through enemy territory and immediately load that tank into a transport, like in the above example but with Southern France under enemy control, without any hostile units (so also without antiaircraft guns and industrial complexes and bases)?

Thank you for your help in advance!

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2671
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Fri Sep 23, 2011 8:24 am

No.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests