A&A Pacifice 1940 FAQ

This game, measuring 35”x32” is compatible with the yet to be released Axis & Allies Europe 1940 game (coming in August 2010). This game includes newly introduced units such as mechanized infantry and tactical bombers.
Post Reply
Larry
Posts: 3090
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:44 am

A&A Pacifice 1940 FAQ

Post by Larry » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:20 pm

Axis & Allies Pacific 1940 FAQ
February 20, 2011
Errata
Setup: The following errors exist in the setup cards:
United States: Add an airbase and a naval base to the Philippines.
ANZAC: Remove the minor industrial complex from New Zealand, and change the major industrial complex in New South Wales to a minor industrial complex.

The Map: Sea zone 5 should not be adjacent to Korea. The border between sea zones 5 and 6 should meet at the border between Amur and Korea, leaving Amur still touching only sea zone 5 but Korea touching only sea zone 6.

Page 6, How the War Is Won: The fourth and fifth sentences of the second paragraph should read "Japan wins the game by controlling any 6 of these 8 victory cities (one of which must be Tokyo) at the end of a complete round of play (after the completion of the ANZAC turn). The Allies, Great Britain, the United States, China, and Australia and New Zealand (ANZAC), win the game by controlling the territory of Japan and holding it until the end of the Japanese player's turn following the capture of the territory, as long as they control at least one Allied capital (Western United States, India or New South Wales).”
Page 8, The Political Situation: This entire section should be replaced with the following:
At the beginning of the game, Japan and China are at war. However, none of the other Allied powers begin the game at war with Japan. They remain neutral for the time being, but each will be drawn into the war in turn as certain events unfold. The following rules reflect the growth and development of these historical events from 1940 on.

Japan
At the beginning of the game, Japan is only at war with China. Japan considers movement of units into China by any other power as an act of war against it. Japan may declare war on any or all Allied powers at the beginning of the Combat Move phase of any of its turns. Japan may attack Dutch territories only if a state of war exists between it and the United Kingdom and ANZAC. Japan may attack French territories at any time, requiring no declaration of war against any Allied power before doing so.

The United Kingdom and ANZAC
The United Kingdom and ANZAC have a special relationship, and they are treated as one for political purposes. Either power is free to declare war on Japan at the beginning of the Combat Move phase of any of its turns, resulting in a state of war between both powers and Japan. Neither power may move units into China unless a state of war exists between them and Japan.
These two powers also have an arrangement with the Dutch government in exile (Holland having been captured by Germany) and have taken guardianship of the Dutch territories in the Pacific. As a result, they are free to move units into these territories as a noncombat movement at any time, as long as they have not yet been captured by Japan. They may actually take control of them (gaining their IPC income) by moving land units into them. Additionally, the United Kingdom and ANZAC consider attacks against any Dutch territories to be acts of war against them directly. Once a Dutch territory has been captured by Japan, however, it may be captured and controlled by any power.

The United States
The United States may not declare war on Japan unless Japan first declares war on it or makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the United Kingdom or ANZAC. However, if the United States is still not at war with Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may declare war on Japan at that time. Representing a switch from a peacetime to wartime economy, the American player collects an additional 40 IPCs each turn. This wartime economy takes effect during the first U.S. turn in which it is at war with Japan, regardless of the event that triggered the state of war.

France
France's capital has been captured by Germany. As a result, French territories are treated in the same way as any Allied territories whose capital is held by an enemy power (see Liberating a Territory, pg. 18).

The Soviet Union
The Soviet Union has entered into a non-aggression treaty with Japan. As a result, no units from any power on either side may enter Soviet territories at any time.
Page 9, China Rules: The second sentence of the fourth paragraph should read "While they are not Chinese territories, Chinese forces can move into them, but China cannot control them, unless India is under Axis control and China recaptures them from the Axis."

Page 10, Phase 1: Purchase & Repair Units: The second sentence of the first paragraph should read "All the units listed in the mobilization zone on the game board are available for purchase by all powers, except for China, which has limited purchasing options (see page 9)."

Page 17, Step 4. Defending Units Fire (Land and Sea Battles): "Defending units roll one die for each unit with a defense value, including units behind the casualty strip, that did not fire in step 2."

Page 20 - Collect Income: The last sentence of the first paragraph should read "However, before you can actually receive any income, you must check for any losses incurred by naval attacks against your shipping routes (see below)."

Page 20 - Collect Income – Conduct Convoy Disruptions: The third condition for a convoy disruption should read "At least one warship belonging to a power with which you are at war must be in the sea zone."
Page 21 - National Objectives & Bonus Income - Japan: The first bullet point should read "Gain 5 IPCs: Control Sumatra, Java, Celebes and Borneo at the same time."

Page 21 - National Objectives & Bonus Income - United States: The first bullet point should read "Representing a switch from a peacetime to wartime economy, gain 40 IPCs if the U.S. is at war with Japan."
Page 22, Industrial Complexes (cardboard counter) – Unit Characteristics: The third and fourth sentences should be replaced with "The major industrial complexes have a 10 printed on them.” The final sentence should read “Industrial complexes cannot be built on islands (Japan is the exception).” (Australia is not an island.)

Page 24, Artillery – Unit Characteristics: This paragraph should read: “Supports Infantry and Mechanized Infantry: When an infantry or mechanized infantry attacks along with an artillery, its attack increases to 2. Each infantry and/or mechanized infantry must be matched one-for-one with a supporting artillery unit. Artillery does not support infantry or mechanized infantry on defense.”

Page 24, Mechanized Infantry: The Attack value should read “1 (2 when supported by artillery)”. The following paragraph should be added to Unit Characteristics: “Supported by Artillery: When mechanized infantry attacks along with an artillery, the mechanized infantry’s attack increases to 2. Each mechanized infantry must be matched one-for-one with a supporting artillery unit. If your mechanized infantry outnumber your artillery, the excess mechanized infantry units still have an attack of 1. For example, if you attack with two artillery and five mechanized infantry, two of your mechanized infantry have an attack of 2 and the rest have an attack of 1. Mechanized infantry are not supported by artillery on defense.”

Special Comments and Clarifications Related to Neutral Powers

The United States begins the game neutral and is initially not considered part of the Allies, though it does have Allied sympathies. The United Kingdom and ANZAC are at war with Germany, on the other side of the world, but not with Japan. While Japan is considered to be on the opposite side from these powers, they are not considered to be enemies. While they remain neutral toward each other, these powers have some special conditions and restrictions on what they can and cannot do. The United States, being at war with no one and having a strict isolationist policy, has especially tight restrictions.
A power may never attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with which it is not at war. In the event that a power at war attacks a sea zone containing units belonging to a power with which it is already at war and units belonging to a power with which it is not at war, the latter power's units are ignored. Those units will not participate in the battle in any way, and a state of war with that power will not result.
A power’s ships do not block naval movements of other powers with which it is not at war, nor are they blocked by them. They can occupy the same sea zone.
In addition to these restrictions, when not at war the United States may not attack neutral territories. It also may not move units into territories or onto ships belonging to another power or use another power's naval bases. This includes Dutch territories. Also, no other power may move land or air units into the United States' territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases.
If a power is not yet at war with another power, and there are no restrictions currently keeping them from being at war (see The Political Situation on pg. 8 ), it may declare war on that power. This must be done on the declaring power's turn at the beginning of the Combat Move phase, before any combat movements are made, unless otherwise specified in the political rules (see pg. 8 ). An actual attack is not required. Once war is declared, all territories and sea zones controlled by or containing units belonging to the power or powers on which war is declared instantly become hostile, and the normal rules of moving into or through hostile spaces apply.
Important exception – During the combat movement phase following the announced declaration of war, transports already in sea zones that have just become hostile may be loaded in those sea zones (but not in other hostile sea zones). This may occur only during the first Combat Move phase following the announced declaration of war. Once that initial combat movement phase is over, normal transport loading restrictions apply.

The Map
Q. Does sea zone 6 connect to Manchuria?
A. No.
Q. Are the Canadian territories (Yukon Territory and British Columbia) controlled by the United Kingdom?
A. Yes.
Q. Is New Zealand an island?
A. Yes. Even though it touches the edge of the map, it is an island territory because it touches only a single sea zone and no other territory.
Q. Are islands that appear on the map but have no name label, such as the one in sea zone 1, game spaces? Can I land units on them?
A. No. If an island is not named, it’s not a game space.

Movement
Q. Can mechanized infantry units move two territories in noncombat movement by themselves, or must they be paired with a tank?
A. They can move two territories without a tank. In fact, they can also move two territories in combat movement without a tank, as long as the first territory is friendly. They only need to be paired with a tank in order to perform a blitz movement, which involves moving through an unoccupied hostile territory during combat movement. See page 13 of the Rulebook for more on blitzing.
Q. I'm a bit uncertain about how far air units can move. How exactly do you count air unit movement points?
A. The important thing to remember here is that every time a unit crosses a boundary between spaces, it uses one movement point. A fighter taking off from one island and landing on another island in an adjacent sea zone will use three movement points – one to enter the sea zone that the original island is in, one to move to the next sea zone, and one to move to the destination island in that sea zone.
In a similar example, if that fighter were doing the same thing except taking off from a carrier in the original sea zone instead of an island, it would use only two movement points because it's already in the origination sea zone rather than on an island within it. Since it's starting from the sea zone rather than the island, it only crosses two space boundaries during its movement.
Q. None of the Allied powers may move units into China when they are not at war with Japan. Does this include moving air units through China on their way to somewhere else?
A. Yes, it does. Allied powers may not move air units through original Chinese territories unless they are at war with Japan.
Q. Let’s say I’m doing an amphibious assault and there are no enemy ships in the sea zone around the island I’m attacking, but the island has an airbase and enemy fighters. Can I move extra ships and planes into the sea zone along with my transports that won’t support the assault just in case my opponent decides to scramble the fighters to defend the sea zone? What about if there’s only an enemy sub in the sea zone? Can I move a destroyer in along with my transport just to keep the sub from getting a free shot at it, even though the destroyer will not participate in the assault?
A. Yes, in both cases. You may move units into a sea that presents a danger to your units during combat movement, even though they may not actually end up fighting. Just the chance that there will be combat is enough to allow it.

Kamikaze Attacks and Scrambling
Q. Can kamikaze attacks be done during Japan’s turn?
A. No. Kamikaze attacks are a defensive action, so they may only be used during Allied powers’ turns.
Q. Do kamikaze attacks require a Japanese air unit to be used and destroyed?
A. No. The Japanese player must simply discard one kamikaze token for each attack.
Q. If Japan is going to both use kamikaze and scramble fighters in the same sea zone, which one happens first? Can I see the results of my kamikaze attacks before I decide how many air units to scramble?
A. Since all movement must be completed before any combat occurs, scrambling must be done before kamikaze attacks are resolved.
Q. Can I scramble fighters or tactical bombers from Queensland or Western United States?
A. No. They can only be scrambled from island territories with airbases. An island is a single territory completely surrounded by a single sea zone.
Combat
Q. Aircraft carriers have an attack vaIue of zero. Does this mean that they can’t attack other units and can only be used defensively in battles?
A. No. They can participate in an attack and take hits just like any other warship. They just don’t get an attack roll.
Q. Can units that have no attack value (aircraft carriers and transports) attack a sea zone by themselves?
A. No. In order to carry out an attack, at least one unit with an attack value must participate. This includes sinking defenseless transports. However, this does not prevent transports from attempting to conduct an amphibious assault alone if there are only enemy units within the sea zone that may initiate optional defenses, such as air units that may scramble or subs that may fire on the unescorted transports.
Q. I'm a little confused about how transports work in combat. Could you explain when they can be taken as casualties and how "defenseless" transports work?
A. Transports are a part of a sea combat, just like other sea units. They are participants in combat, not bystanders. A combat involving transports plays out like any other combat, with three exceptions.
The first exception is that transports don't roll combat dice. As a result, they will never hit anything. They must rely on combat units for protection.
The second exception is that transports may only be taken as casualties when there is no other choice. In other words, they can't be used as "cannon fodder". Combat units protect transports, not the other way around.
The final exception is that when it gets to the point where only one side is rolling dice, and it's only a matter of time before the other side's transports are destroyed, you can stop rolling dice and remove the transports. The sole point of the defenseless transport rule is to keep you from rolling potentially endless dice until you kill all of the helpless transports. This is the only time that transports are ever automatically destroyed.
A classic example of the defenseless transport rule is a fighter attacking a lone transport. You could roll a die again and again until you roll a 3 or less while the transport doesn't return fire. The defense-less transport rule simply allows you to forego the rolls and remove the transport automatically. Remember, it takes a dedicated combat action to destroy even a defenseless transport, so a ship or plane can't simply move through a sea zone and destroy it in passing. It must end its combat move there and declare an attack.
Let's look at another, more complex, example of transports in combat. An attacking force consisting of two bombers, a destroyer and two loaded transports is attempting an amphibious assault. The sea zone is defended by a destroyer and two submarines. In the first combat round, all of the attacking units fire and get one hit. The defender takes the destroyer as the casualty and returns fire, missing with his destroyer but rolling snake eyes for his subs and scoring two hits! The attacker must take his destroyer for the first hit, since subs can't hit planes and transports must be taken last as casualties. The second hit must now be taken on a transport, since that's the only eligible unit remaining. The attacker is now in a sticky situation. He has only two bombers and a transport remaining against two defending subs. Since the bombers can no longer hit the subs (the attacker doesn't have a destroyer), and the subs can't hit the bombers, the only effective firing going on will be the subs firing on the transport. It's only a matter of time before the subs sink the transport, but the transport can still retreat before it is hit, so it's not defenseless. The attacker's only real option at this point is to retreat before the remaining transport is destroyed.

Submarines
Q. If a submarine submerges to escape combat, when does it resurface?
A. Immediately after the battle. Submerging simply removes subs from combat. Beyond that, it has no further effect.
Q. Can a defending submarine submerge before an attacking sub fires on it?
A. Yes. The decision whether to submerge is made before any dice are rolled, and the submerging subs are removed from the battle immediately. Of course, if the attacker has a destroyer, the defending sub may not submerge at all.
Q. If a US fleet attacks a Japanese sub, and a UK destroyer is in the same sea zone, will it cancel the special abilities of the Japanese sub, even though the UK destroyer doesn't participate in the battle?
A. No. Units in the same sea zone belonging to a power allied to the attacker never participate in a battle in any way. Only a destroyer belonging to the attacking power will cancel the Submersible, Surprise Strike and Cannot Be Hit by Air Units abilities of defending submarines. However, since all defending units in the sea zone participate in the battle, any defending destroyer will cancel these abilities of attacking subs, even if the destroyer and fighter belong to different powers.
Q. Let's say I attack a sea zone that contains both enemy subs and surface warships. If at some point during the battle, all of the enemy surface warships are sunk and only subs remain, can I ignore the subs and end the battle?
A. No. Subs (and/or transports) can only be ignored during movement, and you can only ignore them when there are no surface warships in the sea zone with them. When you attack a sea zone, you attack all of the units belonging to powers with which you are at war in that sea zone.
Q. Assume there's a sea zone that contains an enemy sub and cruiser, and that I attack it with a destroyer and a fighter. If the defender scores two hits in the first combat round, can I take the hit from the cruiser on my destroyer, saving my fighter, since the sub can’t hit it?
A. No. Because you have a destroyer, the defender’s sub rolls in Step 4 along with his or her cruiser. Since both defending units roll in the same combat step and all dice are rolled in a step before apply-ing casualties, the two hits are applied together. Therefore, you must apply both hits if possible. The only way to apply both hits is to take the cruiser hit on your fighter and the sub hit on your destroyer.
Q. Submarines can attack transports that move through their sea zone “unaccompanied by surface warships”. Under exactly what conditions do surface warships prevent sub attacks on moving transports?
A. In order to prevent sub attacks, a transport or group of transports must make its entire move accompanied by a specific surface warship or group of surface warships. Each transport or group of transports that is not escorted will be fired upon once by each sub in the sea zone.
Q. If a power with which I’m not at war moves an unescorted transport through a sea zone where I have a submarine, can I attack it?
A. No.
Mobilizing New Units
Q. If I upgrade a minor industrial complex to a major one, how many units can it mobilize on the same turn that it’s upgraded?
A. Three. Just as you can’t mobilize units from a new industrial complex, you can’t use the increased mobilization capacity from the upgrade until your next turn.
Q. If I purchased units that I can’t mobilize because of production limitations, what happens to the excess units?
A. They are returned to the box, and the IPCs are refunded to you.
Collecting Income and Convoy Disruptions
Q. Do I get the bonus IPCs for any National Objectives that I start out meeting at the beginning of the game added to my starting IPCs?
A. No. Bonus IPCs for meeting National Objectives are awarded during the Collect Income phase of your turn. You will receive your first bonus payment during that phase of your first turn.
Q. What is the maximum number of IPCs that the United States can lose in a turn from convoy disruptions in sea zone 10 when it is at war? Can the extra 40 IPCs that it gets be lost in this way?
A. Since the additional 40 IPCs is National Objective income and doesn’t come directly from a territory, it may not be lost to convoy disruptions. The maximum amount that the U.S. can lose in sea zone 10 is 12 IPCs (10 for Western United States plus 2 for Mexico).
Q. If Japan captures Western United States, does its income increase by 50 IPCs?
A. No. Japan would receive 10 IPCs income from the territory. Since the additional 40 IPCs is National Objective income and doesn’t come directly from the territory, only the U.S. may receive it.
Miscellaneous
Q. The battle strip has different combat values than the rulebook for some of the units, and it doesn’t have mechanized infantry or tactical bombers on it at all. Is the battle strip incorrect?
A. Unfortunately, the battle strip for Axis & Allies 1942 Edition was included in this game by mistake. The unit combat values in the rulebook are correct. If you wish, you may contact Wizards Customer Service at the address or telephone number on the back of the Rulebook to request a replacement battle strip.
Q. Can I upgrade a minor industrial complex to a major one if it has been damaged?
A. Yes, but only if you repair the damage at the same time that you purchase the upgrade.
Q. When I capture a territory with an antiaircraft gun in it, do I get to keep it even if it belonged to one of my allies before it was captured by the enemy? What about if I liberate one of my ally's territories that has an antiaircraft gun in it?
A. Once an antiaircraft gun is captured, any claim of ownership on it by former owners is gone. If you capture it, it's yours, no matter who owned it in the past. If you capture a territory, you capture any AA guns in it. However, if you liberate a territory, any AA guns in it will go to your ally along with the liberated territory. In other words, control of AA guns always transfers along with control of the territory they're in. There is, however, one exception to this rule.
Say ANZAC has an AA gun in New Guinea, and Japan captures both New Guinea and New South Wales (the ANZAC capital). If the United States takes New Guinea from Japan, it gets to keep both New Guinea and the AA gun, since ANZAC's capital is held by the enemy. If the United States then liberates New South Wales, ANZAC gets New Guinea back, but the United States gets to keep the AA gun there. This is the only time that a territory can change hands without any AA guns in it changing hands along with it.

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2672
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: A&A Pacifice 1940 FAQ

Post by Krieghund » Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:45 am

The FAQ has been updated with three new questions and one clarification to an existing answer.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2672
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: A&A Pacifice 1940 FAQ

Post by Krieghund » Thu May 13, 2010 2:54 pm

The FAQ has been updated with an erratum concerning the victory conditions.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests